The be-all and end-all

Life's sweet and sour surprises!

Edward: Pleased to Meet You, Scarlett.

on January 21, 2015

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Pleased to Meet You.”

The protagonists are:

Scarlett O’Hara- Gone with the Wind

e-o-vento-levou-scarlett-ohara-2

Edward Cullen – Twilight

download

It’s 1861 and Edward is 100 years old. He is wandering around in Georgia in search of blood, animal’s blood. He is thirsty and disgruntled and lonely. He finds nothing and no one but just when he is about to turn back, he sees a girl, dressed in a long floral dress, working diligently on a plantation. That’s Scarlett. She is working on her plantation, Tara plantation, the only thing which is dear to her. She lives for that land, her own land which she has grown after working day and night. Never before had Edward seen such a beauty. He took no time to fall in love with her.

Edward: Excuse me. I am looking for Mr. Hamilton’s residence. If you can help me with the same, I would be very grateful.

Scarlett: I know no one named Hamilton. Now if you will please excuse me.

Edward: I see you are worried. Is there anything I can help you with?

Scarlett: Fiddle-dee-dee. Can’t you see I am working? Now go away and let me work.

Edward: I just offered to help you.

Scarlett: What did you just say? Help me? Do you think you can plough this whole field by today evening? I need to do it in order to plant the seeds tomorrow. I am running out of money. I need to make the sale so that I can have money, so that I can buy food for myself and my family, so that I don’t have to beg from someone.

And then Scarlett breaks down. Edward hates to see the tears running down her cheeks and he wants nothing right now but to take away all her tensions. He takes the plough from her swelled overworked hands and in an instant, the whole field is ploughed. Scarlett is not ready to believe what she just saw. She is not ready to believe that it’s not a dream but reality.

Scarlett: I… You… Umm… Are you a magician?

Edward laughs and says, “No. I am not a magician.”

Scarlett: Great balls of fire. Don’t bother me anymore. Don’t play any games with me. Tell me the truth now.

Edward: I am a vampire.

Scarlett: Fiddle-dee-dee! Don’t talk silly, will you? And if you say you are a vampire, then I say prove it. Well, I don’t even see any long canines.

Edward: Should I drink your blood and prove it to you?

Scarlett: Like you can!

And he starts laughing. Scarlett makes her laugh and he can’t help but fall more and more in love with her.

Scarlett: Well, I thank you for helping me plough my field. I should return the favor too. That house you see over there, that’s mine. Do you want to come inside and have a cup of tea? You also need to explain how you did what you did over tea. I am not letting you go without a satisfactory explanation.

Edward: I will try my best to give you a satisfactory explanation. I am Edward, by the way.

Scarlett: Alright alright. We can do this entire introduction later. Now if you will follow me to my house.

Edward: After you, my dear.

Scarlett: Great balls of fire! Don’t call me that.

And they start walking towards her house in the hopes of beginning a new friendship, a new love…!

3 responses to “Edward: Pleased to Meet You, Scarlett.

  1. Very Nice, you got good talent for writing..!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hopelessly Romantic Cinderella says:

    Hey…I miss you comments. Please check out my latest blog. https://hoplesslyromanticcinderella.wordpress.com/2015/01/30/counting-my-blessings-part-2-new-friendships/

    Like

Leave a Reply

