The be-all and end-all

Life's sweet and sour surprises!

Review: Before I Go to Sleep

on April 3, 2016

Before I Go to Sleep
Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The Plot
“Before I Go to Sleep” is a thriller novel written by S.J. Watson. The story revolves around a woman who after a car accident becomes amnesiac. She wakes up every day not remembering the last 25 years of her life, which includes her marriage, her son, and her career as a writer. However, with the help of a doctor, she starts keeping a daily journal, which apart from helping her remember things, also makes her question the stories being told to her by her husband and she becomes determined to find out who she really is, what her life really is.

The Review:
I was expecting a lot from this book, basis the reviews I had read on Goodreads as well as on the back cover of the book. But alas, it did not live up to my expectations. I hardly found anything thrilling in the book and it surely was not a page-turner, according to me. I hate to put books down without finishing it, so I soldiered on till the end and the last 30 pages were the only pages which grabbed my attention. I admit the twist in the end was actually “woah” or “I-did-not-see-that-coming”. But overall, it was a book which could have been skipped!

Favorite Quotes:
1. “What are we, if not an accumulation of our memories?”

2. We’re constantly changing facts, rewriting history to make things easier, to make them fit in with our preferred version of events. We do it automatically. We invent memories. Without thinking. If we tell ourselves something happened often enough we start to believe it, and then we can actually remember it.”
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

